Built of pink granite from Governor R.M. Harris’s Pennington Quarry, the Chickasaw capitol was completed in November 17, 1898 and served as our nation’s capitol until 1906. It was sold to Johnston County in 1910. Negotiations to repurchase the building started in the 1960s under Governor Overton James. Tribal ownership was reclaimed by Governor Bill Anoatubby in 1992.
Today, the capitol grounds are home to a unique museum that chronicles the history and culture of the Chickasaw people. The museum features the Chickasaw Governor’s Portrait Exhibit, contemporary Chickasaw artwork, a gift shop and a rotating photography exhibit. The original 1856 Chickasaw council house has also been restored and is housed in the Council House Museum.
For more information on the Historic National Chickasaw Capitol click here.