Winter Fire

4 Seasons • 12 Episodes
A Chickasaw Storytellers' Series

Winter Fire is a documentary series sharing stories related to Chickasaw history, culture, people and present-day tribal issues. These videos symbolize stories shared within the warm glow of the Chickasaw family, with topics touching on removal, boarding schools and the revitalization of the Chickasaw language. The Season 1 episode, "And Our Mothers Cried," has been awarded a Regional Emmy® for outstanding historical documentary.

© NATAS/Television Academy

30m 30s

The Ancient Game of Stickball

S4 • E3
Discover the ancient game of stickball and the players who are passionate about preserving this age-old tradition.


7 Items

First Look: Winter Fire Season 4

A Chickasaw Storytellers' Series
Season 4 of Winter Fire highlights the spirit of Chickasaw warriors, the ancient game of stickball and the Chickasaw lawmen of Indian Territory.

Winter Fire | Episode 1: Traditional Medicine

A Chickasaw Storytellers' Series
Learn about the ancient methods of traditional Chickasaw healers in this director's cut of Winter Fire, as seen on local PBS affiliate OETA.

Winter Fire | Episode 2: Arrival In Indian Territory

A Chickasaw Storytellers' Series
Amidst Chickasaw removal to Indian Territory, the crucial Fort Washita was constructed and leaders such as Cyrus Harris emerged.

Winter Fire | Episode 3: Douglas Johnston

A Chickasaw Storytellers' Series
In this director's cut of Winter Fire as seen on local PBS affiliate OETA, journey through history to learn about the life of Gov. Douglas Johnston.

Winter Fire | Episode 4: And Our Mothers Cried

A Chickasaw Storytellers' Series
During the late 19th and early 20th centuries, American Indian children were sent to boarding schools to erase their culture and way of life.

Winter Fire | Episode 5: Voices of Our Ancestors

A Chickasaw Storytellers’ Series
With fewer then 50 native speakers, the Chickasaw language is threatened like never before—a threat set in motion over a century ago.

Winter Fire | Episode 6: Tribal Resurgence

A Chickasaw Storytellers' Series
See how the Chickasaw people remained unconquered and unconquerable through centuries of struggle in this award-winning director's cut of Winter Fire.