A pillar of his community and of the Chickasaw Nation

Kennedy W. Brown was a devoted public servant, a pillar of the Chickasaw Nation throughout his life. Born May 19, 1939, in Stonewall, Oklahoma, Brown attended Tupelo High School and East Central University. He joined the Oklahoma Army National Guard and served for 47 years, retiring with the rank of captain.

When Brown first went to work for the Chickasaw Nation in 1974, it was as one of only three full-time employees, one of whom was Governor Overton James. Brown served the Nation with distinction for 43 years, first as director of the Comprehensive Employment Training Act program. In this and his subsequent position working under the Job Training Partnership Act program, he worked to improve career prospects for Chickasaw citizens through training and professional development.

In 1987, Kennedy W. Brown was elected Lieutenant Governor of the Chickasaw Nation. After his term ended in 1991, he took a position as special assistant to Governor Bill Anoatubby. He served from 1987 to 2010 as a voting member of the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes in Oklahoma. He was also appointed to the board of directors for the Chickasaw Historical Society in 1994, a role he remained in for over 20 years.

Brown was an active civic leader, taking part in numerous community organizations for Ada and the surrounding region. He served as judge for the Chickasaw Princess Pageant, past president and member of the board of trustees of the Chickasaw Foundation, member of the board of directors for Mental Health Services of Southern Oklahoma, member of the board of directors for the Ada and McAlester District Girl Scouts, his local Masonic Lodge and Kiwanis Club and many, many more. He was also known as an avid sports fan, devoted to OU football, the Oklahoma City Thunder and the New York Yankees.

Kennedy W. Brown passed away on February 28, 2018. His surviving family includes his wife of 44 years, Richenda, his son, Kelly Brown and his grandchildren.


  • Elected Lieutenant Governor of the Chickasaw Nation in 1987
  • Inducted in the Chickasaw Hall of Fame in 2018