Esteemed physician and medical researcher devoted to field of oncology

Dr. James Wilburn Hampton was born in 1931 in Durant, OK, and received his undergraduate degree from the University of Oklahoma in 1952. In 1956 he earned a medical degree from the University of Oklahoma School of Medicine, where he also completed a five-year fellowship in hematology/medical oncology and served as a National Institutes of Health (NIH) research trainee.

Dr. Hampton is a man of many accomplishments. He spent a year at the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm, Sweden, served as a member of the Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation and, for five years, headed the hematology/medical oncology section at the University of Oklahoma. He has served as the medical director for the Troy and Dollie Smith Cancer Center at INTEGRIS Baptist Medical Center, as a chair of the Cancer Control Network for the National Cancer Institute and as a member of the Institute of Medicine’s investigative panel on cancer in minorities and the underserved. Dr. Hampton was also named to the American Medical Association’s Consortium on Minority Affairs Governing Committee and served twice as president of the Association of American Indian Physicians.

He has served on the Board of the Oklahoma County Medical Society and convened the meeting that founded the Hospice of Oklahoma County, a unique hospice sponsored by physicians. He is additionally a collaborating partner of C-Change: Collaborating to Conquer Cancer, led by former President George H.W. and Mrs. Barbara Bush, and is a past chair of the Intercultural Cancer Council, a national organization committed to serving minority communities and underserved people with cancer.

Dr. Hampton is currently a fellow of the American College of Physicians and is a clinical professor of medicine at the University of Oklahoma College of Medicine. Since 2010, he has served as a hematologist/medical oncologist at Mercy Clinic.


  • Named Indian Physician of the Year by the Association of American Indian Physicians, 1987 and 2000
  • Named Physician of the Year in Private Practice by the University of Oklahoma Medical Alumni Association, 1998
  • Recipient of the Humanitarian Award from the American Cancer Society, 1999
  • Recipient of the Intercultural Cancer Council’s “Leap of Faith” Award, 2006