Oklahoma Statehood: U.S. and The Five Tribes

April 28, 1897 in Indian Territory

Recognizing that further resistance would be futile, the Chickasaw and Choctaw became the first of the five tribes to voluntarily agree to abolish tribal government and ownership of land. By 1902, the other three tribes — Cherokees, Seminoles and Creeks — had followed suit, opening all of Indian Territory to white settlement. (Both tribal government and communal ownership of land were made legal again in 1934 when the Dawes Act was rescinded.)


Related Videos

Indians Defrauded by Guardians

Neal McCaleb
Updates to the General Allotment Act allowed the Secretary of the Interior to declare tribal members “non compos mentis” or “not of sound mind.”

Prelude to Oklahoma Statehood: Census, Allotments

Neal McCaleb
Neal McCaleb shares how his own family was touched by the allotment of tribal lands in the lead up to Oklahoma statehood.

Indian Culture Enriches Us All

Neal McCaleb
Oklahomans have a thirst for knowledge of their tribal heritage.

Reestablishing Indian Self-Governance

Neal McCaleb, Ambassador At-Large, Chickasaw Nation
In 1898 tribes were stripped of any right to control their own affairs.

The Five Tribes: Matrilineal Societies

Jeannie Barbour
Jeannie Barbour explains that southeastern tribes share a matrilineal societal organization.

A Proud Capitol Despite Looming Abolishment

Richard Green
The Atoka Agreement of 1897 and Curtis Act of 1898 were passed to abolish tribal governments and submit the tribal domains to allotments.

Chickasaw/Choctaw Position: Not Sudden or New

Stephen Greetham
Stephen Greetham explains that the legal positions of the Chickasaw and Choctaw people are not sudden or new.

November 2011 - The Chickasaw White House

Chickasaw Nation News
The Chickasaw White House in Milburn, Oklahoma was built in 1895 by Chickasaw Governor Douglas Johnston and was home to his family from 1898-1971.